NZPM established the Future Governance Programme in 2017 to foster future elected director capability from within our ordinary shareholder membership pool, through a formal training and mentoring programme.

Here's what you need to know:
  • Eligibility: Applicants for the programme must be ordinary shareholders who have a strong desire to be involved in the future NZPM governance process and demonstrate core attributes for development and mentoring as potential future directors of the co-operative.
  • Training and Mentoring: The selected candidates will attend and participate in NZPM Board meetings for a 12 month period from September to August, attend Institute of Directors structured governance training courses, and receive one-on-one mentoring from an independent professional director.
  • Selection Process: When new places on the programme become available, the company asks for written applications, then develops a shortlist and interviews candidates during June and July with the successful candidates being announced at the company’s Annual Meeting.  Having already appointed a candidate for 2024, the company expects to next invite new candidates to apply to the programme in April 2025.
  • Past Participants:
    • Ngaire Mansfield from Straight Flush Plumbing Limited, Wellington was appointed as NZPM’s first recipient of the programme in August 2017
    • Reuben Cutts from Fixed Price Limited (Auckland) and Nathan Stewart from Precision Group Limited (Wellington) were appointed in August 2018
    • Sam Tyson from Climate & Plumbing (New Plymouth) and Dave Morgan from C F Reece (Hamilton) succeeded in August 2019
    • Scot Pearce from Water to Waste (Auckland) was appointed as a sole appointee in 2020
    • Sarah Jamieson from BOP Plumbing & Gas (Rotorua) was appointed to the programme in 2021
    • Joe Calkin from FB Hall & Company Limited (Hamilton) was appointed to the programme in 2022.
If you have any questions or would like to apply to participate in the programme, please contact us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Back: Our People

Next: Young Plumber of the Year